A cloudy day at Colonial Knob

After weeks and weeks of telling myself I needed to, I was bursting to take a walk up colonial knob.

At 468 metres (1535 feet) located in Porirua, which is in the Wellington region of the North Island, New Zealand (where I live) colonial knob offers a lot!

From the top the views can go as far as Mount Taranaki on a super clear day, The South Island, Wellington areas of Tawa, Johnsonville, North to Waikanae and seaward to coastal islands, Kapiti Island and Mana Island.

The conditions were pretty clear, it had been a while, I was hoping to go up and see these beautiful views for myself much like the first time I had done this hike. This would be my second shot at getting to the top, this time I was walking the 4 x 4 style track as I was really keen to make it to to the top and didn’t need the deep forest experience as is featured on the other two tracks.

So I set off on the summit (4 x 4) track and it was a gradual climb just on gravel road sort of material, so it was pretty relaxing this time, it was beautiful and clear I could see out to neighbouring suburbs and housing areas as the afternoon started to wind up and start to move closer to sunset.

As a photographer I was tempted to stop for some preliminary compositions but my main focus was to get to the summit to watch the sun go down and check out these awesome views which I still had in my mind.

I carry on, passing sheep and cows and the odd person coming down. It is still clear until I take a few corners and see the communication/radio style masts which top some of the peaks starting to take on some mist and low cloud. This did not get any better…

So instead of standing atop a peak and seeing for hundreds of miles in each direction I was left to try and console with a few sheep who came in and out of visibility (they were pretty cool about it and continued to eat grass in between giving me odd looks).

Although this was not the experience I was expecting it did make for a nice series of low cloud/mist photos, I also had some pretty nice little pockets of evening sunlight.

And also there is something about standing in the clouds that makes you feel alive!

For this series I have given these images probably a different kind of style than my normal, I feel it is a good fit for these and the ability to try something new, much like this experience taught me.

Have you been up colonial knob??

What was your favourite experience of going up?

Follow more of my work on Instagram and Facebook

Colonial Knob Porirua Wellington
Summit track, Colonial Knob Porirua Wellington
Colonial Knob Porirua Wellington
Rural setting including sheep among low cloud, Colonial Knob Porirua Wellington
colonial-knob-3
Rural setting among low cloud on Colonial Knob Porirua Wellington
colonial-knob-4
Sheep among low cloud on Colonial Knob Porirua Wellington
colonial-knob-5
Communication masts among low cloud on Colonial Knob Porirua Wellington

colonial-knob-6

Colonial Knob Porirua Wellington
Rural setting amongst low cloud on Colonial Knob Porirua Wellington

 

2 thoughts on “A cloudy day at Colonial Knob”

  1. WEL done
    It took me. 6 years, every day at work ( poppies cafe at kenepuru hospital ) I saw the hill and said to myself one day I will do it.
    I want to go back one day to go to the next hill up to see wats there

    Like

    1. Thanks Arthur! Yeah this peak definitely has that inspiration that it must be conquered I reckon! It’s nice on a revisit too let’s hope it’s clear next time…

      Like

Leave a Reply

